Category: Bowling

Shabbir and Dhruv win Bronze in Doubles – 5th AIMAG Turkmenistan 2017

Shabbir Dhankot and Dhruv Sarda of India won bronze medal in Men’s Doubles at the 5th Asian Indoor and Martial Arts Games currently underway in Ashgabat, Turkmenistan.
Shabbir (181) and Dhruv (237) of India defeated Kenneth Chua (224) and Jo-mar Jumapao (182) of Philippines 418 — 406 by 12 pins in the Quarter finals.
In the Semi-finals Shabbir (178) and Dhruv (187) lost to Cho- Young – Seon ( 226 ) and Kang He Won of Korea (232) by 93 pins to bag the bronze , India ‘s first ever medal for the sport of Tenpin Bowling in 5 editions of Asian Indoor Games.
Cho – Young – Seon and Kang He Won of Korea went on to win Gold defeating another Korean pair of Choi Bok Eum and Kim Kyung Min by 52 pins (434- 382).
In the Qualifying rounds, Played on long oil conditions, Shabbir (1355) and Dhruv (1215) pair had fiinished overall 5th scoring 2570 pins to qualify for Top 8 Knock out rounds. Akaash Ashok Kumar and Parvez Ahmed finished 17th.
In the Singles Shabbir( 1342) missed the Cut for Top 8 by 12 pins and Dhurv Sarda ( 1326) by 28 pins.
Team India comprising of Shabbir Dhankot, Dhruv Sarda, Akaash Ashok Kumar and Parvez Ahmed will be competing in the qualifying rounds Team of 4 event to be held tomorrow.

Karanataka State Bowling Tournament to start from tomorrow

KSTBA State Ranking Tournament will be held from 19th August 2017 to 21st August 2017 at  Amoeba, Church Street, Bangalore.
46 Karnataka Bowlers which include Reining State Champion Akaash Ashok Kumar, Judy Alban and Indian International Parvez Ahmed will complete in this 3 day Event. 6 Guest Players which include Daniela Wyatt (Under 16 National Champion from Colombia) will be competing for the honours.
Total Prize money: Rs. 75000.00


Dhruv Sarda retains Title of Wissen 3rd Bangalore Open Tenpin Bowling Championships

Dhruv Sarda of Delhi retained the title at the Wissen 3rd Bangalore Open Tenpin Bowling Championships which concluded at the Amoeba Bowling Center.
In the Finals of the Open Division, played on Challenge the Leader Format, Top Seeded Dhruv Sarda comfortably won the match against Shabbir Dhankot of TN (234 – 180) to take home Prize money Rs 1.25 Lakhs.
Dhruv who started with 2 spares followed it up with a turkey in next 3 frames. And finished the final 2 frames with a bagger and a score of 234. Shabbir opened Frame 1 with a 7 – 10 split scored double strikes in next 2 frames. But he opened again in Frame 8 and did not get connection of strikes to finish with score of just 180 and losing the finals.
Earlier Shabbir had pipped local favorite Akaash Ashok Kumar by 2 pins (247- 245) to move into the Finals.
Akaash comfortably won his match against teenage sensation Kishan R of Karnataka who played his maiden Step ladder round (247- 158).
In the Masters Round of the Open Division, Dhruv Sarda (3418), Shabbir (3404), Kishan R (3357) and Akaash Ashok Kumar (3346) finished on top of the table after 16 games and made it to the Step Ladder Knock out Round.

Abhishek Dhudasiya won Men’s Graded ‘A’ Division Title in Bangalore Open Tenpin Bowling Championships

Abhishek Dhudasiya of Tamil Nadu won the Men’s Graded ‘A’ Division Title at the Wissen 3rd Bangalore Open Tenpin Bowling Championships – 2017 being held at the Amoeba Bowling Center, Church Street, Bangalore.
In the Masters Round, held this morning, where Top 20 bowlers bowled 8 games block to decide the winner based on total pinfall. Abhishek bowled quite consistently, scoring 6 games above 200 and ending up with total pinfall of 1674 and an impressive average of 209.25.

[media-credit id=1 align=”alignnone” width=”716″][/media-credit]

The 22-year-old Abhishek finished 91 pins ahead of Salman Khan of Karnataka who finished 2nd with total pinfall of 1583. Former International Antony Rajkumar (1535) of Karnataka finished 3rd.
In the Masters Round of Open Division, out of 16 bowlers who made the Cut, 8 bowlers are from Karnataka. Vijay Punjabi of Karnataka is injured and in his place, 1st Reserve Surendra Babu from TamilNadu will play this evening.
All 16 bowlers will bowl 8 games this evening and 8 games tomorrow morning. Top 4 bowlers, based on cumulative pinfall of 16 games will move to the Knock-Out Stepladder round. The Finals will be held at 5 pm tomorrow.

Shoumick and Kishan R make the Cut in Bangalore Open Tenpin Bowling Championships

Shoumick Datta and Kishan R, both 17-year-old, of Karnataka made the cut in the Open Division of the Wissen 3rd Bangalore Open Tenpin Bowling Championships – 2017.

In the final day of Qualifying rounds, Shoumick Datta scored an impressive 692 (207, 237 and 248) and 651 in 2 blocks of 3 games to finish with total pinfall of 1343 and comfortably making it to the Masters Round. And Kishan R had qualified earlier with total pinfall of 1306. Shabbir Dhankot (1438) of TamilNadu and Defending Champion Dhruv Sarda (1417) of Delhi are still on top. 7 Men from Karnataka are likely to make it to the Masters Round.

In Men’s Graded A category, 7 Men Bowlers led by 17-year-old Misam Rizvi at the Top are in the race to qualify for the Masters Round. In the Men’ s Graded Division Finals, Susil Adam of Tamil Nadu (1537) was the winner, Praveen Kumar of Karnataka (1522) finished Runner Up and Ziauddin of TamilNadu (1433) finished 3rd.

The Masters Round Finals of Men’s Graded A will be held tomorrow morning and the First Round of Masters of Open category will be held tomorrow evening.


[media-credit id=1 align=”alignnone” width=”989″][/media-credit]

[media-credit id=1 align=”alignnone” width=”921″][/media-credit]