Press "Enter" to skip to content

South Zone Senior Men’s and Women’s Rugby 7’s Tournament, Bengaluru on July 8, 2017

July 8, Bangalore: Bangalore is all set to play host to its first  South Zone Senior Men’s and Women’s Rugby 7’s Tournament. The tournament scheduled on July 8,2017  will feature six  state  teams representing five southern states  in India.


The eight participating state  teams include Andhra Pradesh , Kerala , Tamil Nadu , Telengana , Puducherry and the hosts Karnataka . This will be the first of the five city circuit that will take place in the four other states in the coming months to come . The next leg of the circuit will be held in September at Kurnool, Andhra Pradesh. The tournament is organised by Karnataka Rugby Football Union (KRFU ) under the aegis of South India Rugby Football Association and Rugby India .


The Five teams in the men section will play a round robin and the top two teams will play for the Winner and runners up and the next two teams will play for the third place


The tournament will begin at 9am at  Sree Kanteerva Stadium , the finals for the Women’s will take place at 4.30 pm and the Men’s final will take place at 5pm on July 8, 2017.

Talking about the tournament, Mohan Krishna, President of South India Rugby Football Association  said, “With Rugby being included as an Olympic sport we see such tournaments to be an important part of the chain of rugby development , it helps us gives exposure to players in the grass roots to compete and excel and be noticed so that they have the opportunity to play for the country . The South Zone is the first to start this type of tournament .”

Talking about playing on the home ground , Karnataka captain and India player Roshan Lobo said ,“Though being the one of the oldest rugby playing state in the south , we have fielded a young and fit team to give them match exposure and develop the next line of players , we believe we are still the favourites in the tournament in the men’s section “

Nagesh Rao , Secretary  Karnataka Rugby Football Union  said, “We are very pleased to host the first edition first All India South Zone Senior Men’s and Women’s Rugby 7’s Tournament in Bengaluru . Events like these go a long way to promote the sport in a region and we hope that this tournament will do the same. We would like to express our gratitude towards Transworld Rugby  who have been a great supporter for the game , Adroit  Facility Management Services , Scrummer , and the Government of Karnataka  for helping us in organizing the tournament .

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *