Press "Enter" to skip to content

Lajong to open Shillong Premier League campaign against Rangdajied


Shillong: A new season of Meghalaya’s top football competition has begun with a new league sponsor coming in – Gionee Mobiles. Three matches have already been played, and the competition this year has become tougher with each team aiming to win the Shillong Premier League.

Defending Champions, Shillong Lajong FC who bagged the top honours in 2014 and 2015 will look to grab their third when they begin their SPL campaign against Rangdajied United FC on 22nd August at the JN Stadium at 3:30pm.

Just like previous seasons, Lajong will field a young squad with no foreign players in the team. Very recently, the team played the Independence Cup in Aizawl as part of their pre-season preparatory camp. They topped Group B and remained undefeated to reach the semifinals stage but lost to Aizawl FC 3-2 in the extra time.

Speaking to head coach, Thanhboi Singto, about the first match, he said, “It will be a good test for the young team. This year we have registered ten U 18 players in the 30 member squad.

There is talent in the very youthful squad. We need to improve and develop in every game. This will be a great opportunity for some of the youngsters.”

He further said, “The trip to Aizawl gave us a chance to build on combinations and also to give us match time.

It will be tougher this season as we will not have Vishal, Rupert and Sana who were our mainstay last year when we won the League. But we will approach the League with confidence and give our best as we have always done.”

An interesting encounter awaits the football spectators of Shillong on Monday as the defending champions of the Gionee Shillong Premier League will lock horns with another tough contender in the league, Rangdajied United FC. Both teams will be eager to grab first wins from this crucial encounter.


The Team:

  1. Phurba Tempa Lachenpa (GK)
  2. Frolicson Dkhar (GK)
  3. Neithovilie Chalieu (GK)
  4. Kenstar Kharshong
  5. Nim Dorjee Tamang
  6. Sandeep Singh
  7. Pritram Kumar Singh
  8. Meban K Wahlang
  9. Allen Lyngdoh Nongbri
  10. Jacob Lalrawngbawla
  11. Sheen Stevenson Sohktung
  12. Joseph Lalfakzuala
  13. Milan Basumatary
  14. Khlainbor Khongsit
  15. Loyangamba
  16. Alen Deory
  17. Aiban Kupar Dohling
  18. Tridev Boro
  19. Novin Gurung
  20. Kagalay. Anal
  21. Joe Zoherliana
  22. Sana Singh
  23. Hardy Cliff Nongbri
  24. Donboklang Lyngdoh
  25. Lalrammuana
  26. Isaac Vanlalsawma
  27. Redeem Tlang
  28. Bipin Singh
  29. Samuela Lalmuanpuia

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *